We find it important that you feel at home on vacation, so we do everything to bring you a clean, green and enjoyable holiday experience. With just that little bit of extra hospitality that our guests appreciate. Our homely welcome, our loyal team of employees and the playful and distinctive way the site is organized all contribute to this experience.
't Weergors is a real family business and exists for more than 55 years
't Weergors is a family business and exists for over 55 years. On the small field next to the farm, Leen and Nel Riedijk started to receive tourists from Rotterdam in 1964. More and more people were camping and the couple decided to completely stop the dairy farm. Their son Frans and his wife Dickie Riedijk gradually took charge of the company. In their turn, their children Arda and Rob Riedijk took over the campsite management in 2020.
What does 't Weergors mean?
The name 't Weergors is closely linked to the history of Hellevoetsluis
The name ‘t Weergors is closely linked to the history of Hellevoetsluis. The polders ‘t Grote Weergors and ‘t Kleine Weergors, located on either side of what would later become the fortified town of Hellevoetsluis, date as far back as the end of the 15th century. ‘t Grote Weergors is now called Quackgors. A ‘gors’ is an area on the outside of the dyke that is either wet or dry depending on the tide.
Following closure in 1971, the Haringvliet changed from a brackish, tidal estuary to a freshwater, non-tidal lake. In 2019, the sluices have been partially reopened to permit saltwater intrusion and tidal flow into and out of the Haringvliet.More about the area
'Peace and Tranquillity are my Passion'
The farm in which restaurant 't Karrewiel is located was built in its current form in 1869
‘t Karrewiel restaurant is located in the farm. The farm, in its current form, dates back to 1869. But the land on which the current farm sits previously functioned as a farm as far back as the 16th century. Remnants of the old farm were found during excavation work. What is now the restaurant used to be a feed storage room. In wintertime, the cows would be in the area that is now the café. The kitchen used to be a horse stable. The ‘Vrede en Rust is mijn Lust’ farm has been owned by the same family since 1971.
From farm to campsite
Over the years, the company has grown to approximately 16 ha
The Delta Works, the growth of Hellevoetsluis and the emerging residential recreation partly influenced the decision to say goodbye to the farm in 1964 and to go into recreation. Camping started with the small field next to the barn of the farm.View the map